Plans and hobbies.

I’m at school early today.

Kass and I only having one car means that she drops me off around 10:20, and then I hang out until my class at 6. And then she comes to get me after work. 

Today is Student Success Day, so all classes until 7pm are cancelled. I really hope that my class is not cancelled. My professor didn’t email us to tell us, but that would be my luck. 

Kass and I have decided to make a plan to better grow individually and as a couple. Things have been a little hard lately and we want to get back on track. Kass has decided that she thinks she is going to take singing lessons. I’m really excited for her because she is a good singer, and I think with some lessons she could be amazing. I haven’t decided what my hobby is going to be yet. I love art, but the last few years it has just felt like so much work. Much more than it is worth. It makes me sad, but I want a hobby that I am going to enjoy not one that I am going to feel exhausted over. 

I’ve kind of been thinking spoken word.

I’ve always really loved it. I think it is so beautiful. And I write a lot. When I’m not writing here I’m trying to keep up with a personal journal that I have with me almost all the time. I slack sometimes, but it’s just nice to have a place to put all my shit and to just write nonsense. It took me a long time to be able to keep a decent journal. I always felt there was some unseen audience that was going to one day read my journal. Like I would be a modern day Emily Dickinson, and people will find my writings after my death and it should be perfect, everything explained so they can follow along, with good penmanship, and excellent grammar. 

I’ve tried very hard to get out of that habit, and I think I’ve done really well. Sometimes if I have an issue, I just write about it over and over and over, and it doesn’t matter, because it’s only mine and no one, not even myself will probably ever read it. Ever. 

I digress. I think that I would like to start spoken word. I was looking for some workshops on it around me but couldn’t find any, so I’ve been surfing the web trying to find some videos and tips and tutorials. I would also like to start going to some like slam poetry events. I think it would be a great way to speak about my experiences and maybe connect more with some people from the LGBT community around here. I feel like such an outside from the community. I think it is my fault because I am so shy and paralyzed with fear when it comes to going and doing new things, but we said that we would work on this plan, and I really want to do this. For me, for Kass, for us. 

Weston.

Leave a Reply

